



Utah State Tax Commission Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division 210 N 1950 W Salt Lake City, UT 84314 mved.utah.gov

March 2009 Issue

Upcoming Holidays

State Offices will be closed on the following Holidays: May 25, 2009 September 7, 2009

Operating Hours

MVED is open Monday-Thursday 7 AM—6PM



Commonly Used Phone Numbers and Websites

MVED

801-297-2600 mved.utah.gov

DMV

801-297-7780 dmv.utah.gov

Sales Tax Division

801-297-2200

Sales Tax Warehouse 801-297-3878 tax.utah.gov





Renewal Information

It is that time of year again for renewal of your business license with MVED. Almost 84% of businesses renewed online last year. By renewing online it saves your business time and money! MVED will only have staff available to process your renewals in person on **June 24th**, **June 25th**, **June 29th and June 30th**. Get out of line and try renewing via the internet this year!

All dealer licenses, including motorcycle and small trailer dealers, must take the 3 hour training class **BEFORE** they can start their renewal. It takes approximately 48-72 hours for the trainers to update our system once you have completed the training. You will not be able to renew with MVED until the training has been updated. Please plan ahead and **take your training early!** so it doesn't slow down your renewal process. Training can be taken anytime **on or after March 25, 2009**. Training is offered by several trainers:

- www.mved.org
- Independent Dealer Solutions 801-566-3802 or 1-800-324-7009 or website of www.idsinfo.com
- Real Value Insurance 801-298-3811 or 1-877-450-9100 or via email at dave@hale.net
- Sonja Jorgensen 801-815-8382 or via email at sjorgensenlaw@gmail.com

Fees to clear temporary permits

The registration fees of certain types of vehicles is changing on 7/1/09. This affects the fees that are required to be paid to clear a temporary permit from your records. This increase also affects fees that must be paid on non resident permits. The new fees as of 7/1/09 are as follows:

Passenger/Lt Truck \$43.00 not expired - \$86.00 expired

Street Motorcycle \$44.50 not expired - \$89.00 expired

Trailers \$31.00 not expired - \$62.00 expired

ATV/Snowmobile \$19.00 not expired - \$38.00 expired

Save your dealership money by submitting your permits in a timely manner.

Curbstoners

You can help MVED by reporting any person that is selling 3 or more vehicles in 12 months without having a dealers license. Unlicensed dealers known as "Curbstoners" can be reported online at mved.utah.gov

2009 Legislation Items

The Utah State Legislature has passed several new bills that have an affect on our motor vehicle dealers. The legislature approved raising the motor vehicle registration fees by \$20.00 and 45 day temporary permit fees to \$11.01. The 45 day temporary permit fee increase is scheduled to start on April 1, 2009, and the motor vehicle registration fee increases on July 1, 2009. If you are licensed as a dealer we have enclosed a new temporary permit order form (TC-756) with the new fees. The current economic conditions have affected MVED and motor vehicle dealers alike. MVED has had to cut administrative and investigative staff levels. Unfortunately, during the last three months of 2008, our dealer related cases have tripled as compared with the prior year. We anticipate a continued heavy work load due to increasing dealer failures and climbing fraud investigations. Other laws passed concerning the motor vehicle industry are listed below:

HB113 allows the seller of a salvage vehicle to sell a vehicle without making the required written notification if the buyer is a salvage auction or an insurance company. This bill also requires that any seller advertising a salvage or branded title vehicle will be required to disclose that fact in the ad using the words "salvage certificate" or "branded title" as prominent as the description of the advertised vehicle is displayed.

HB324 will allow a licensed salesperson employed by a wholesale motor vehicle auction to be employed by more than one auction at the same time. The intent is to allow the auctioneers to work at more than one wholesale auction.

SB193 will remove the requirement that out-of-state salvage buyers have a salvage buyer's license. It also will allow an in-state purchaser, that is registered to do business in Utah and has a sales tax license, to purchase up to five salvage vehicles, in a 12 month period, at the salvage auction without having a salvage buyers license. It will require the buyers of salvage, without the salvage buyer's license, to title the purchased vehicle(s) within fifteen days of the purchase. It also establishes an administrative and criminal penalty for violation of this new law.

SB 239 raises the registration fees on motor vehicles by \$20.00. The revenue will go into the Transportation Investment Fund.

Dealer Advertising Rule Changes

Several of the rules in regards to advertising have changed as of 3/3/09. Please take time and review the advertising rules. They can be found online at: http://tax.utah.gov/research/effective/r877-23v-007.doc **AND** http://le.utah.gov/~code/TITLE41/htm/41_03_021000.htm Advertising violation fines start at **\$250.00** and go up to **\$5,000.00** per occurrence.

Non Resident Affidavits

The non resident affidavit form TC-583 was replaced in May 2007. The form should NOT be submitted to MVED when submitting a non resident permit. Please retain the non resident

affidavit in your files in case you are audited. The new form number is

TC-721A and can be obtained under forms at www.tax.utah.gov

Bar Codes on Temporary Permits

When voiding a temporary permit please DO NOT write across the bar code. We scan the permits with a scanner and marks on the bar code do not allow the scanner to work properly. Scanning permits helps ensure that the dealers permits are being cleared correctly.

Salesperson

Licenses

Please check all of your salespeople licenses after July 1st to ensure they have a 2010 expiration date.

New salesperson licenses that are issued between now and June 30th will expire in 2009! Our licenses are not prorated.