



Utah State Tax Commission Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division 210 N 1950 W Salt Lake City, UT 84314 mved.utah.gov

July 2010 Issue

Upcoming Holidays

State Offices will be closed on the following Holidays: September 6, 2010 November 11, 2010

Operating Hours

MVED is open Monday-Thursday 7 AM—6PM

Commonly Used Phone Numbers and Websites

MVED 801-297-2600 mved.utah.gov

DMV

801-297-7780 dmv.utah.gov

Sales Tax Division

801-297-2200

Sales Tax Warehouse 801-297-3878 tax.utah.gov



Fingerprint Law Change

Due to legislation changes, all owners, partners or corporate officers of a dealership AND all salespeople licensed under a dealership must be fingerprinted **prior to November 30**, **2010**.

Enclosed is a list of owners, partners or corporate officers and salespeople that are currently listed under your business. Any person on the list must complete:

- Fingerprint card with signature of official taking fingerprints and the person who is being fingerprinted. Make sure all personal information is also completed.
- TC-465 Waiver Form—can be found online at www.tax.utah.gov *the newest version no longer requires a notary
- Payment of \$25.00 per person, make checks payable to: Utah State Tax Commission
- Return the above items to MVED, 210 N 1950 W, SLC UT 84134
- Submit no later than November 30, 2010 or licenses will be suspended.

PLEASE NOTE if fingerprints were submitted to MVED on or after 7/1/10 then that person will not need to resubmit. They will already be in the new fingerprint database and should not be on your enclosed list.

If you have a salesperson that transfers to your business after we printed your list, you will need to make sure they have submitted the required items. Don't assume their old employer handled it before they transferred.

Other Important Items

As of 7/1/10 there is a handling charge on any special plate orders. The handling fee is per order not per plate. If you have both a transporter license and a dealership license you must complete a different form for each business type, they are different licenses. The revised form TC-142 form is available online. Once your plate order is processed they will be mailed back to your business. Processing time is typically 4-6 weeks since the plates must be made.

The monthly report of sale TC-928 is due on the 10th of each month. The sales listed on this report help qualify the dealership for plates. This report should include wholesale sales, sales to non residents of Utah (regardless of whether the non resident was issued a permit or not) and sales where no temporary permit was issued. NOTE: Do not list retail sales to Utah residents that were issued a permit, those sales are reported to us by the Utah DMV offices.

If you believe your sales qualify you for additional dealer plates please contact MVED at 801-297-2600. We can look at your sales anytime through out the year to see if you are eligible for more plates. You must sell 3 vehicles in a 12 month period to qualify for two dealer plates. For every additional 25 sales you qualify for one more plate. This information is also reviewed yearly to determine how many plates you can renew.

As of 7-1-2010 if a salesperson or owner license has been suspended or expired for **2 months or longer** they will need to submit a new fingerprint card, photo, TC-465 waiver and pay the \$25.00 fingerprint processing fee again.

Due to legislation changes, the TC-303 salesperson application form was changed. The form now has a question about business/employment history. This includes jobs of <u>ANY</u> type held by the applicant for the last 5 years, in addition to any dealer or salesperson license held. The new form can be found online at www.tax.utah.gov. This form has a revision date of 4/2010 and states "Effective 7/1/10" across the top. Please be sure that you are using the new form and that all questions are completed or we will return the form.

Please be aware that you may have licensees that will be facing suspension of their MVED license due to convictions. The new fingerprint card process requires BCI to track future arrests and convictions, in addition to convictions that occurred in the last 10 years. MVED will be notified of any arrests or convictions and will take appropriate action. If a license is facing suspension the dealership will be sent notification. If the suspension is appealed, the licensee can continue to work until the appeal process is complete.