



Utah State Tax Commission Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division 210 N 1950 W Salt Lake City, UT 84314 mved.utah.gov

April 2011 Issue

Upcoming Holidays

State Offices will be closed on the following Holidays: May 30, 2011 July 4, 2011 July 25, 2011

Operating Hours

MVED is open Monday-Thursday 7 AM—6PM

Commonly Used Phone Numbers and Websites

MVED

801-297-2600 mved.utah.gov

DMV

801-297-7780 dmv.utah.gov

Tax Division

801-297-2200 tax.utah.gov

Tax Warehouse

801-297-3878

MVED Newsletter

GET OUT OF LINE! RENEW ONLINE! It is simple, quick, and easy and we will mail you all of your licenses and decals!

By renewing online it saves your business time and money! MVED will only have staff available to process your walk in renewals from June 27th—30th. Get out of line and try renewing via the internet this year!

Note: Renewals brought in after July 1st will take 48-72 hours for processing. You will <u>not</u> be able to wait for the renewal to be processed.

All dealer licenses must take the 3 hour training class **BEFORE** they can start their renewal. It takes approximately 48-72 hours for the trainers to update our system once you have completed the training. You will not be able to renew with MVED until the training has been updated. Please plan ahead and *take your training early* so it doesn't slow down your renewal process. Training can be taken anytime **on or after April 1, 2011**. Training is offered by several trainers:

- www.mved.org
- Independent Dealer Solutions 801-566-3802 or 1-800-324-7009 or online at www.idsinfo.com or Utah Independent Auto Dealer Association online at www.utahdealers.org
- Dave Hale at Real Value 801-298-3811 or 1-877-450-9100 or via email at dave@hale.net
- Sonja Jorgensen 801-601-1440 or via email at sjorgensenlaw@gmail.com

Form Changes

Several of our forms are having minor changes. We will not be able to accept the old forms after 7/1/11. The form numbers are: TC-301, TC-303, TC-305, TC-758, TC-759 and TC-760. Please always print any forms from our website to ensure that you have the most current forms. You can search for our forms by form number at www.tax.utah.gov under "Forms & Publications".

We will be forced to reject your documents anytime the correct form is not submitted or if the form is not filled out completely. Please note: An employer should never sign a blank TC-303 for a salesperson. The employer needs to be aware of all information being reported on the application.

As of 7/1/11 the price for an additional place of business will be changing. The revised application for an additional place of business (TC-758) will be available online soon. The revised application will reflect the correct price. The price change does not affect temporary lots for tent sales.

Documentation Fees

The dealer documentary service fee is **not** a state mandated fee. Following is the rule that regulates

documentary service fees:

R877-23V-14. Dealer Identification of Fees Associated with Issuance of Temporary Permits Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sections 41-3-301 and 41-3-302.

(1) Only fees required by Title 41, Chapter 1a, may be identified as state-mandated fees.

(2) A dealer that charges the purchaser or lessee of a motor vehicle a fee for preparing or processing any state-mandated documents or services ("dealer documentary service fees") must, in addition to the requirements set forth in Subsection (1), prominently display a sign on the dealer premises in a location that is readily discernable by all purchasers and lessees. The sign shall contain the language set forth in Subsection (2)(a).

(a) The (dealer documentary service fee) () as set forth in your contract represents costs and profit to the dealer for preparing and processing documents and other services related to the sale or lease of your vehicle. These fees are not set or state mandated by state statute or rule.

(b) The blank in Subsection (2)(a) may be wording selected by the dealer to describe the fee charged for

document preparation and processing and other services, but must be, in all cases, the actual wording used in the dealer's contract of sale or lease agreement.

Salesperson Licenses

Please check all of your salesperson licenses after July 1st to ensure they have a 2012 expiration date. New salesperson licenses that are issued between now and June 30th will expire in 2011! Our licenses are not prorated.

Fees Due to Clear Permits

The price to clear a temporary permit has been changed. The fee change will be effective 7/1/11. This does not include the price to buy a pad of permits, this is just the fee to clear the permit. If you are licensed as a dealer please see the new enclosed fee chart which explains when a fee is due and the amount due.

Acceptable Payment Methods

MVED <u>cannot</u> accept debit/credit cards in our office. Please be sure that applications are accompanied by a check or money order made payable to Utah State Tax Commission. We also accept cash payments at our front counter. If paying with cash, please try and have the exact change. Salespeople are often frustrated when they have driven an hour to get here and only have debit/credit card to make a payment.