

August 2014 Issue

Utah State Tax Commission Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division 210 N 1950 W Salt Lake City, UT 84134

## **Upcoming Holidays**

State Offices will be closed on the following Holidays: 9/1/14 10/13/14 11/11/14

## Hours

MVED is open Monday-Friday 8 AM—5PM

Commonly Used Phone Numbers and Websites MVED 801-297-2600

. . .

mved.utah.gov

DMV

801-297-7780

dmv.utah.gov

#### **Tax Division**

801-297-2200

tax.utah.gov

Tax Warehouse

801-297-3878



# **MVED** Newsletter

## MVED 45 Day Temporary Permit Fees Changing 11/1/14

The fees to purchase a pad of 45 day temporary permits are changing on 11/1/14. A pad of 25 permits will now be \$266.50. Applications postmarked on or after 11/1/14 must have the new fee amount. The new TC-756 application will be available on the website soon. You can also order 45 day temporary permits via our MVP website mvp.tax.utah.gov

## **MVED Clearing Temporary Permit Fees Changing 11/1/14**

#### Void/Rescind/Roll Back/Unwind

If you have a temporary permit that is filled out incorrectly, the sale of the vehicle is rescinded, or for some other reason the permit is unusable, the dealer must return the permit **AND** the stub to Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division and it will not be considered issued. There is not a fee due for this type of permit. If the permit is returned with the stub and is expired, there is still not a fee due.

If both the stub **AND** permit are not returned there will be a fee due equal to the registration fee. If the permit is also expired there will also be a 100% penalty. See the prices on back page to determine the fee due based on the vehicle type.

If you are clearing the permit with a "dummy\*" permit there will be a fee due equal to the registration fee **and** a 100% penalty.

#### Extension

Permit extensions may be granted in exceptional circumstances when the problem is beyond the dealer's control. Extensions will not be issued if the paperwork or plates are delayed because of negligence or failure on the part of the dealer to submit the paperwork timely to the Department of Motor Vehicles. A permit extension will only be given one time to a customer and requires the dealer to use one of their new temporary permits. If the request meets the criteria and the dealer's permit extension percentage is not above 2%, MVED will issue an authorization number. This number must be written on the temporary permit and the acronym USTC (Utah State Tax Commission) listed next to the dealer name. The permit stub must be mailed in to MVED. DO NOT TURN THE EXTENSION INTO THE DMV WHEN LICENSING. There is not a fee for an extension.

#### Non-Resident

This is a permit that is put on a vehicle that has been sold to a resident of another state. Submit the permit stub along with a fee due equal to the registration fees for the vehicle. If the permit has expired there is also a 100% penalty.

If you are clearing the permit with a "dummy\*" permit there will be a fee due equal to the registration fee **and** a 100% penalty.

Fee Schedule for permits issued on or after 11/1/14:	
Passenger/Lt Truck Vehicles	\$46.00
Passenger/Lt Truck Vehicles with expired permit	\$92.00

Vehicles weighing in excess of 12,000 lbs gross weight are charged a <sup>1</sup>/<sub>4</sub> year registration fee. Please call MVED at 801-297-2600 for the amount. The weight of the vehicle must be listed on the temporary permit. If the permit has expired a 100% penalty will also be assessed.

Motorcycles	\$47.50
Motorcycles with expired permit	\$95.00
Off Highway	\$21.00
Off Highway with expired permit	\$42.00
Snowmobile	\$25.00
Snowmobile with expired permit	\$50.00
Trailer	\$31.00
Trailer with expired permit	\$62.00

\*dummy permit—any permit in which the dealer is not able to provide the original stub/customer copies/window portions and you are providing us permit information written on a piece of paper.

The Utah Tax Code for temporary permits is 41-3-302 and Administrative Rule 877-23V-5. It is illegal to alter any part of a temporary permit. An MVED temporary permit should **never** be issued to a **watercraft** – contact the DMV to inquire about watercraft permits.

All temporary permits and applicable fees should be sent in to: Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division at 210 N 1950 W, SLC UT 84134. Please make check payable to: Utah State Tax Commission.

The current fee sheet chart can always be found on our website at: http://mved.utah.gov/images/temporarypermitfees.pdf

### MVED is getting daily reports of dealers using another dealer's 45 day temporary permits

45 Day Temporary Permits are issued to a specific business. You cannot sell, share or give a permit to another dealer. The customer can have their car impounded, if they are using a permit that was not issued properly. If a dealer is using another dealer's permits it will also cause the permit to not clear the DMV (when obtaining plates). Dealers will see these outstanding permits on their annual permit audit. If dealers provide their permits to another dealer an administrative fine can also be assessed or you could lose the ability to purchase MVED permits.

#### MVED will no longer mail out annual renewal reminders. All licenses expire June 30th of each year.

If your business did not renew online this year OR if you have still not yet set up access to our new website please visit mvp.tax.utah.gov

MVED will no longer be mailing out a yearly reminder to renew your business license. All renewal reminders are being sent out electronically to anyone that has access to MVP. See our May 2014 newsletter for more information on how to set up an account for MVP access. The May 2014 newsletter can be found here: http://mved.utah.gov/newsletter/2014-05.pdf

If you have multiple license with MVED be sure to set up access for EACH license. The May 2014 newsletter has instructions for doing this.