## TOWER INSUFFICIENT EVIDENCE OF OWNERSHIP CHECK SHEET

The following information must be completed and submitted to the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for all vehicles that you are requesting a Utah title or dismantling permit. Place the documents in the order that we have listed below.

You will be notified when a bond is required once we have determined the vehicles value is over \$3000 and/or if any of the documentation is incomplete (includes a dismantling permit). If the vehicles value is determined to be over \$3000, we will need a repair estimate from a certified mechanic or insurance company verifying that the cost to repair the vehicle exceeds value. *It is the requestor's responsibility to prove to the DMV that the vehicle is value at less than \$3000.* 

- **TC-656, Application for Utah Title:** Title fee is \$6 Dismantling Permit is \$0.
- **TC-569A, Ownership Statement, <u>must contain the following information</u>:** 
  - A complete recital of facts explaining the absence of a negotiable title or current registration for non-title states;
  - How the vehicle was obtained and from whom;
  - A statement indicating any outstanding liens or encumbrances on the vehicle (if known);
  - A statement indicating where (if known) the vehicle was last titled or registered;
  - A DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE CONDITION OF THE VEHICLE;
  - When tow was requested by law enforcement due to being in an accident, list which law enforcement agency requested tow; and,
  - Any other information pertinent to the acquisition and/or possession of the vehicle along with condition of vehicle.
- **Tow Ticket:** Include all vehicle and towing information along with individual's signature requesting tow.
- □ **Permission to Tow Contract/Letter required** or a copy of the contract or signed authorization from the property owner is required when the vehicle is removed from private property.
- Printed digital photos of all sides of the vehicle that clearly show the condition of the vehicle inside and out. Example: If the engine is missing, interior has been severely damaged, missing parts, flat tires, and/or windows broken/cracked; pictures are required to verify the claim. If you do not have digital photos, developed photos or clear photocopies will suffice. Application will be rejected if we cannot determine value of vehicle when minimal pictures are submitted.
- Copy of letter sent to registered owner and lien holder, if applicable. Include copy of TLRIS or 'out of state' state search information.
- Original returned <u>unopened</u> certified mail or returned original certified mail card with signatures and USPS receipt. Documents will not be accepted if the 30-day certified letter date has not expired and the certified mail card was signed for. <u>When return mail has been received with a new address, certified letters will need to be sent to the new address unless the Post Office has already attempted to forward mail.</u>
- VIN Inspection (Not needed when there is a Utah record): VIN Inspection can be completed at any Motor Vehicle Branch Office, Certified Safety/Emission Station Inspector or by a Utah Law Enforcement Officer.

The Division of Motor Vehicles will check to see if the vehicle has been reported stolen. If the vehicle has been reported stolen, the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division will be contacted immediately.

## PLEASE MAKE COPIES OF DOCUMENTS PRIOR TO SUBMITTING TO: DMV/VEHICLE COMPLIANCE SERVICES, 210 N 1950 W, SLC, UT 84134 OR SCAN AND EMAIL TO VEHICLECOMPLIANCE@UTAH.GOV